What is an oximeter and what is it used for?

In the past, a blood test is essential and inevitable in evaluating a person’s body status. Through taking a blood test, we can obtain most of our health index at one time. As we all know that a blood test is extremely intrusive and may be painful, it needs to be carried out by trained medical personnel and any improper tests can increase the risk of infection and transmission of various blood borne illnesses. It can be time-consuming as well, the collection, transportation and evaluation of blood requires at least a few hours to finish. But now non-invasive measurements are becoming more commonly used by people, they allow efficient and accurate tests with less health risks. Oximeter is one example of non-invasive measurement which helps monitor a person’s pulse and blood oxygen saturation. Under an improvement of the economy, technology and living standards, people are becoming more aware of their own body health. What’s more, the outbreak of covid-19 has proven that oximeters can help detect the disease even if patients do not show any symptoms. Therefore, some healthy individuals will also make use of oximeters to evaluate their health conditions to control and eliminate any possible health risks. Today, we will mainly focus on the function and implication of oximeters.

Oximeter is a non-invasive device which can monitor people’s health status through their pulse rate and blood oxygen saturation level. The device will send infrared light into the capillaries in patients’ fingers, toes or earlobes, the amount of light reflected is used to estimate the oxygen level in blood. Pulse, also equivalent to heart rate, measures the count of arterial pulses per minute. Oxygen saturation resembles the amount of oxygen-saturated hemoglobin relative to the total amount of hemoglobin. We all know that oxygen plays a critical role in human lives, it supports the normal function and drives the metabolism of our body tissues. As we breathe in, oxygen enters the lungs and diffuses into blood, hemoglobin in red blood cells carries oxygen and becomes oxyhemoglobin which brings oxygen to all around the body. When oxyhemoglobin arrives, it will split back to deoxyhemoglobin, so that the oxygen can enter the body tissues and the normal body functions can be maintained. Malfunctions in heart or lungs which affect the pulmonary and systemic circulation of blood throughout the body, lead to inadequate supply of oxygen in blood. By measuring the pulse rate, we can easily determine the frequency of our heartbeat as well as the condition of oxygen supply to blood and to the whole entire body.

Oximeter helps people to have a better understanding of their heart, lungs and body status, effectively detect any malfunctions and eliminate risks, but how can we evaluate the normality of the data that we obtain from the device? According to the World Health Organisation, a healthy person should have an oxygen saturation between 95% to 100%. When the blood oxygen saturation is 94% or lower, the patient will be diagnosed as hypoxic. Hypoxic may be caused by involuntary smoking, polluted air or high latitude environment; Abnormal respiratory and circulatory systems may cause chronic pulmonary disease and anemia which lead to hypoxic below-normal oxygen saturation level will lead to symptoms like headache, rapid heartbeat, chest pain and shortness of breath. An oxygen saturation of less than 90% is considered as a clinical emergency, the patient needs to be treated immediately otherwise it may lead to respiratory failure, damage in heart or brain tissues which could be life-threatening. Patients diagnosed with covid-19 have their lungs functions being damaged, even though they may not show any symptoms, oximeters are helpful in detecting the virus early. For resting pulse rate, normal individuals are around 60 to 100 times/minute , infants have a faster pulse rate which is about 110 to 120 times/minute while elderly’s pulse rate is much slower, around 55 to 75 times/minute. However, endurance athletes or someone who exercises often have a lower than normal resting pulse rate. It is because exercises strengthen their heart muscles, a greater amount of blood is pumped and more oxygen is supplied every time their hearts beat which results in fewer pulse rate. Some other factors may also affect the resting heartbeat like medication, temperature, emotion and caffeine, leading to the abnormality in pulse rate. When the resting pulse rate is lower than 60 beats/ minutes, the patient may suffer from weakness, dizziness, chest pain and fainting; When the resting pulse rate is too high, patients bear a higher risk of having stroke and heart failure, they may feel dizzy, fall unconscious and encounter cardiac arrest in extreme cases.

There are many oximeters selling in the market, each of them have different prices and functions. But how can we choose the right oximeter that best fits you and your family? We will further analyse the functions of oximeters in different price levels in the following passage.

References

1. World Health Organization (2011). Pulse Oximetry Training Manual. Retrieved from https://www.who.int/patientsafety/safesurgery/pulse_oximetry/who_ps_pulse_oxymetry_training_manual_en.pdf?ua=1

2. Pulse oximetry. (2017, June 13). Retrieved December 24, 2020, from https://www.who.int/patientsafety/safesurgery/pulse_oximetry/en/

3. 心跳紊亂乃心臟病徵兆. Retrieved from https://www.hkah.org.hk/tc/education/article/id/15/

4. 一文教你讀懂生命表徵: 標準值、異常狀況、量度方法 • Evercare. (2020, December 11). Retrieved December 24, 2020, from https://www.yourevercare.com/vital-signs-hong-kong/?lang=zh-hant

en_USENGLISH

血氧儀的測量及運用

過去人們需要通過採血檢驗的方式獲取身體的各項指標,並藉此對個人的健康狀況進行評估。隨著科技的快速成長,越來越多醫療器械的出現推進了無創測量的發展,這不僅可以減少採血過程中血液感染的風險及疼痛,亦可以大大地降低測量所需的時間,提升醫療效率。血氧儀便是一個通過無創的方式測量脈搏及血氧飽和度的儀器。隨著社會經濟、科學技術及生活水平的穩步上升,人們的健康意識也出現了顯著的提高.加上近兩年新型冠狀病毒的爆發進一步證實了血氧儀在疾病檢測及預防上有極大的作用,它能夠有效分辨出患病但沒有明顯症狀的人士,將病毒源頭扼殺在搖籃之中。因此,血氧儀的使用人群不再局限於患有慢性心臟及呼吸疾病的人士,許多關注個人健康的大眾也開始利用血氧儀監視及判斷自己的身體狀態,以求達到疾病預防及風險控制的效果。

血氧儀主要是通過脈搏及血氧飽和度兩項指標來衡量測量者的身體狀況。更準確地說,脈搏指的是人類體表可觸摸的動脈搏動 ,通常以每分鐘搏動次數為單位進行測量;血氧飽和度測量的是血液中氧飽和血紅蛋白在血紅蛋白總數中所佔的百分比,常用於反應體內氧氣含量狀況。我們身體中每一個組織的活動都需要在氧氣的支持下運行,血液是氧氣的載體,血紅蛋白便是氧氣的“搬運工”。當氧氣通過呼吸系統進入人體之後,它們會融入血液和血紅蛋白相結合,形成氧飽和血紅蛋白。血液流經身體各個組織時,氧氣會在跟氧飽和血紅蛋白分離後進入身體組織,維持人體的正常機能。心臟及肺部問題可直接影響體內循環系統及呼吸系統的運作,導致血液內含氧量不足等問題的發生。而脈搏則可以直接反應個人心臟跳動的頻率,進而對心臟供血狀況進行判斷。

血氧儀幫助測量者了解自身心肺功能及身體狀況,能夠有效預防突發事件,但我們要如何判斷測量出來的數據是屬於正常範圍還是異常範圍呢?根據世界衛生組織的標準,正常的血氧飽和度是95%至100%之間;當血氧飽和度降至94%及以下,病人將被判定為缺氧狀態。缺氧可由多種因素造成,其一是環境因素,包括吸入二手菸,污染的空氣及身處高海拔地區;其二是健康因素,多由異常的呼吸道及循環系統造成,如慢性肺病和貧血等都可能導致病人缺氧。血液內含氧量不足將會導致頭痛、心跳加快及呼吸困難等症狀的產生。當血氧飽和度低於90%時,病人將有極高機率患上低血氧症,需要進行急症治療,否則將會有呼吸衰竭的風險,嚴重可能導致心臟或腦部受損,甚至死亡。患有新型冠狀病毒的病人因肺部受到損傷血氧飽和度較正常水平低,即使沒有明顯的症狀,利用血氧儀仍可精確分辨出患病人群。在安靜狀態下正常人的脈搏為每分鐘60-100下不等,嬰兒是每分鐘110-120次,長者則減至每分鐘55-75次。運動員及長期鍛鍊者心臟搏動血液輸出量較大,心肺功能較強,脈搏次數亦相應較低,最低大概每分鐘50下左右。除了運動對心肺功能的影響之外,藥物、溫度及咖啡因涉入等外來因素也會影響心率的變化,導致心率異常化。當靜態脈搏次數低於每分鐘60下,患者將會出現乏力、頭暈、胸痛、疲倦甚至暈厥等症狀。而當靜態脈搏過快或紊亂將會引起心律不整等問題,大大增加了中風及心臟衰竭等心血管病的患病風險,各器官的氧含量受到影響,導致患者感到昏暈、昏厥嚴重更可能導致猝死。

血氧儀的使用早就已經不局限於醫院內部,現時它更多地出現在各個家庭中,時刻守護著每個家庭成員的健康。市面上有許多不同品牌的血氧儀,在不同的價格及配置前要如何才能選擇最適合自己及家人的血氧儀?我們將會在文章的下一部分對不同價位的血氧儀進行分析及比較,務必找出能夠滿足您需求的那一款。

資料來源:

1. World Health Organization (2011). Pulse Oximetry Training Manual. Retrieved from https://www.who.int/patientsafety/safesurgery/pulse_oximetry/who_ps_pulse_oxymetry_training_manual_en.pdf?ua=1

2. Pulse oximetry. (2017, June 13). Retrieved December 24, 2020, from https://www.who.int/patientsafety/safesurgery/pulse_oximetry/en/

3. 心跳紊亂乃心臟病徵兆. Retrieved from https://www.hkah.org.hk/tc/education/article/id/15/

4. 一文教你讀懂生命表徵: 標準值、異常狀況、量度方法 • Evercare. (2020, December 11). Retrieved December 24, 2020, from https://www.yourevercare.com/vital-signs-hong-kong/?lang=zh-hant

zh_HKCHINESE